A Barb’s Tale

A Barb’s Tale

Why I am becoming a Web Developer

This is the start of my journey to break into web development. I will be blogging my journey best as I can. I decided to become a self-taught web developer back in 2019. I had just finished dealing with a disappointment of not being accepted into Police Academy after trying for almost two years straight. I came across a Facebook ad for an online web development school sale and tried it out.

I finished the course and looking back It wasn't the greatest start to learning but I received a certificate of completion and went straight to applying. Suffice to say I've still haven't landed that career yet.

So why am I doing this? At the time of writing this I am happily married man and the father and a 7 week old son. I have been self teaching myself web development for 3 years while delivering for amazon 4-5 days a week and have gone through 4 layoffs from the same amazon warehouse. When I'm not delivering or waking up at 4am to code, I'm helping my lovely wife recover from giving birth and managing to still afford rent and normal everyday expenses.

I'm done with delivering and working 4 days a week for 10 hours a day and not having the money or the energy to be able to take my wife out to a simple dinner and just not being home with my son. I will become a web developer to provide for them a life free from the stress of finances. I will become a web developer because I want to spend more time with my family, loving my wife and raising my own children.

Today my wife and I are one month away from out 5 year wedding anniversary. So, I've decided to start this blog and create content on my learning. My goal is to document my journey each day for a month right now and see what progress I make by our anniversary. My long term goal is to become a fulltime web developer by my birthday in May.

So my line in the sand is drawn and here I stand!