Beginning Blazor

Beginning Blazor

How I decided to learn blazer over JavaScript

So I feel comfortable with html and css to have already made a handful of small projects. However every time I have sat down to learning JavaScript something just stalls out. I’m not sure how else to express it other than I don’t think I click with with JavaScript. At least not right now.

I feel the exact opposite with C#. Maybe it’s because it’s strongly typed and I am one who likes specificity in my code. Maybe it’s the syntax. Maybe it’s from my very first online web development course where we learned php and the syntax of dropping into php inside of html is similar to how Blazor’s razor components work. All I know is that I like C# and seem to comprehend things better studying it.

So when Blazor came along I was definitely intrigued. However I had many days of learning blazer than trying to go back to JavaScript or even a framework like angular or react. But each time the same thing would happen where I’m just not getting into JavaScript. Now I will not bash JavaScript since it’s part of the foundation of the career path I want to go into. I’m sure I will need to learn enough of it eventually but for now I like Blazor the best.

I’ve never been one to just go with the majority of trends so when I see articles about JavaScript being the number 1 programming language again shortly followed by everyone posting in online forums saying “learn react” I don’t tend to go for it.

I don’t hate JavaScript or any of the solid frameworks based around it. I simple learn what I like even when it’s not as “popular.” I think developers should enjoy learning, writing, and reading the code they work with beyond just it being a means to a higher paycheck. If I’m gonna spend a few hours looking at computer screen debugging then I’d rather use a language I simply enjoy spending time with.
So that’s why I have decided to become a Frontend Blazor developer.